The Sacraments of Baptism, Communion and Confirmation

According to the catechism of the Catholic Church sacraments are:  "Christ glorified…1084  "Seated at the right had of the Father." And pouring out the Holy Spirit on his Body which is the Church, Christ now acts through the sacraments he instituted to communicate his grace.  The sacraments are perceptible signs (words and actions) accessible to our human nature.  By the action of Christ and the power of the Holy Spirit they make present efficaciously the grace that they signify."   A shorter definition would be that sacraments are outward signs of inner grace instituted by Christ for our sanctification (blessing).
There are seven sacraments.  "Baptism ─which erases original sin; the Eucharist ─ (or Communion) in which we share the Body and Blood of Christ as he requested at the last supper; Reconciliation ─ in which our sins are forgiven at the sign of our repentance; Confirmation ─  the whole acceptance of our mission as members of the Army of the Lord; Marriage ─ in which a man and a woman unit their lives and their spirits with the full acceptance of procreation;  Holy Orders ─  in which one takes a vow of sanctity and dedication to serve Christ as a priest or nun; and Anointing of the Sick ─ (once known as the sacrament of Extreme Enunciation) is now given to anyone who is gravely ill.
Obtaining the sacraments are sacred rituals of the Church through their own specific religious ceremony.  Beyond the seven there are lesser practices and rituals (such as blessing oneself with holy water or praying the rosary or attending various services provided by the Church).  The ceremonies of the Sacraments are rich in symbolism and they differ in the way they are presented.  Baptism, Confirmation and Holy Orders can be received only once in a lifetime.  Marriage can be received again only if one partner in the marriage dies while Communion, Reconciliation and Sacrament of the Sick may be received over and over.  Communion can be received once every twenty-four hours and traditionally, many Catholics receive Reconciliation once a month or at least several times a year.
Since the Second Vatican Council according to the rites of the Catholic Church, the Code of Canon Lay and the Catechism of the Catholic Church the sacraments of Baptism and Confirmation and the Eucharist are defined as the 'sacraments of initiation'.
Most are baptized in infancy as chosen by their parents who are responsible in teaching how the child will grow in Jesus.  This prayer is said while water is being poured "Father, look now with love upon your Church, and unseal for her the fountain of baptism. By the power of the Holy Spirit give to this water the grace of your Son, so that in the sacrament of baptism all those whom you have created in your likeness may be cleansed from sin and rise to a new birth of innocence by water and the Holy Spirit" (Christian Initiation of Adults, #222A).
At the Eucharist we ask God to send the Holy Spirit upon the bread and wine so that they become the Body and Blood of Christ.  We pray that we will be initiated into the Spirit and become one with the Body of Christ.  The Eucharist (communion) sustains our ongoing faith journey into the Mystery of Christ.
In Confirmation, we learn what the new life in the Spirit implies, "All-powerful God, Father of our Lord Jesus Christ, by water and the Holy Spirit you freed your sons and daughters from sin and gave them new life. Send your Holy Spirit upon them to be their helper and guide. Give them the spirit of wisdom and understanding, the spirit of right judgment and courage, the spirit of knowledge and reverence. Fill them with the spirit of wonder and awe in your presence" (Christian Initiation of Adults, #234).   

This prayer names the seven gifts of the Holy Spirit, wisdom, understanding, right judgment, courage, knowledge and reverence. The actual anointing during Confirmation requests,   "Be sealed with the gift of the Holy Spirit."  The belief is that in receiving Confirmation we are sealed with the gift which is the Holy Spirit".

baptism and confirmation
baptism communion confirmation
baptism confirmation
baptism first communion confirmation
between baptism and confirmation
between communion and confirmation
catholic baptism and confirmation
catholic baptism confirmation
catholic communion and confirmation
catholic communion confirmation
communion & confirmation
communion and confirmation
communion before confirmation
confirmation baptism
confirmation communion
confirmation first communion
first communion and confirmation
first communion catechism
first holy communion and confirmation
first holy communion confirmation
holy communion and confirmation
holy communion confirmation


Catholic Jewelry
Catholic Jewelry

Click on Images for Complete Selection of Fine Catholic Jewelry, Prices and to Purchase.

Christian Religious jewelry

Fine Christian Religious jewelry as crosses, holy spirit pendants and more.

Catholic Religious Jewelry

Fine Catholic Religious Jewelry as Crucifixes, saint medals and more.

Gold Religious Jewelry

14k Gold religious jewelry, many itens are available in 14k gold, white gold, gold filled and sterling silver.

Religious Jewelry Catholic

The Crucifix is popular Religious jewelry for Catholics. we also carry a wide selection of saints, devotional medals and rosaries.

Copyright © 2001